Friends of the Library’s Adult Summer Book Club Niceville Library

Details

When:
May 31, 2017 @ 10:30 am – 11:30 am
Contact:
Lora Glass
850-279-4863 x 1504
Where:
Niceville Library
206 Partin Drive North
Niceville, FL 32578
USA
Tags

Girl in Disguise by Greer Macallister – Wed., May 31 @ 10:30 a.m.

Inspired by the real story of investigator Kate Warne, the first female Pinkerton detective, this spirited novel follows the detective’s rise during one of the nation’s times of crisis, bringing to life a fiercely independent woman whose forgotten triumphs helped sway the fate of the country.

With no money and no husband, Kate Warne finds herself with few choices. The streets of 1856 Chicago offer a desperate widow mostly trouble and ruin—unless that widow has a knack for manipulation and an unusually quick mind. In a bold move that no other woman has tried, Kate convinces the legendary Allan Pinkerton to hire her as a detective.

The Leavers by Lisa Ko – Wed., June 28 @ 10:30 a.m.

Touching upon themes such as identity, determination, addiction, and loyalty, the author clearly shows readers that she is an emerging writer to watch. Ko’s writing is strong, and her characters, whether major or minor, are skillfully developed. Readers who enjoy thoughtfully told relationship tales by authors such as Lisa See, Jamie Ford, and Nadia Hashimi will appreciate.”
Library Journal, starred review

The Orphan’s Train by Pam Jenoff – Wed., July 26 @ 10:30 a.m.

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ” —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival.

A limited number of the books will be available at the Reference Desk.  For more information please call 850-279-4863 x 1504 or email lglass@okaloosa.lib.fl.us.